Big Chief Tablet

When I was a little girl I wanted to be a writer for National Geographic and take my own pictures for my articles.  In the fourth grade I decided I would write children’s books like Charlotte’s Web and Pippi Longstocking and my personal favorites, the Freddy the Pig series.  My first story was about a dog named Mutley who learns to sail a ship and it was a masterpiece, complete with illustrations.  But the real clincher was when I saw John Boy Walton sitting at his desk, week after week, in front of his Big Chief tablet writing about the mishaps of his family that later became the fodder of a hit television show.  I knew then that I, too, needed a Big Chief tablet.  It was time to get serious.

My writing career peaked with a monthly humor column entitled “Mighty Mouth” in our monthly high school newspaper.  Life took me down a different path after that, and being the undisciplined soul that I am, I never quite became the writer that I dreamed of being as a little girl.  But there’s still time. This may be just the Big Chief tablet I’ve been wanting for a long time.

I’ve never really thought of my writing being something that would interest or benefit anyone but me.  Still don’t, really.  But if you want to know what I’m thinking about some things periodically, well, you’re more than welcome to come along for the ride!       And if sharing a “peace” of my mind helps you find a little bit for yourself, better still.

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Marti Jackson says:

    Dear Sally,

    I’ve so enjoyed your involvement with the Zoe Conference in Nashville in the past…really missed not having one last October and hope it will be coming back this fall. Feel like I’m out of the loop with what’s been going on with you…but I assure you I will be praying for you…that God will take care of whatever troubles you and bless you in every way! You are a very special lady…I really appreciate you.

    1. sallygary says:

      Thank you, Marti – it’s good to hear from you!

  2. Kathy says:

    PTL!! Seeing you back at your beloved ministry gives all of us that love you such a boost of spirit! Faith Seekers class has been praying for you specifically. We’ve pledged to pray for your full healing and for a wall of protection around you and your ministry….that that Wall be Jesus Himself!! You have no idea how many love you, Sally and pray for you daily! Blessings to overflowing in your life is my prayer for you!
    In Him,

    1. sallygary says:

      Thank you so much – you don’t know how much this means to me. I’m so grateful for your prayers – please keep them coming!

  3. Matt says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere, Sally!

    1. sallygary says:

      Thanks, Matt – happy to be here!

  4. Johny says:

    I’ll look forward to reading it. And I used to love Big Chief tablets!

    1. sallygary says:

      Big Chief tablets and those big fat pencils they made us use in first grade, remember those? Glad you’re with us, Johny!

  5. Lael says:

    I love hearing your voice again! Look forward to more coming out of this blog!

    1. sallygary says:

      So good to hear from you, Lael!

  6. LB says:

    Do you remember the TV movie that started it, “The Homecoming”? His father blessed that writing work by giving him a stack of Big Chief tablets for Christmas.

    1. sallygary says:

      Remember that scene from The Waltons very well – it was a powerful moment, like you said, of a father blessing a son’s gift of writing. Something that wasn’t necessarily recognized – especially during that time (the Depression era) as being acceptable masculine work in his rural culture. Funny how moments that we see on television like that stick in our heads, isn’t it? Especially as kids. So good to hear from you, Laura – thanks!

  7. Sarah S. says:

    John Boy had a Big Chief? That is where my writing career has gone awry. I totally need a Big Chief. Looking forward to hearing your peace…

    1. sallygary says:

      Yes, Sarah, a Big Chief tablet is the secret. So good to hear from you.

  8. Hey Sally, So I have added you to my google reader…it will be a fun ride. peace to you today!

    1. sallygary says:

      Glad you’re along for the ride, Cathie!

  9. I can’t wait to experience this writing journey!

    1. sallygary says:

      Glad you’re traveling with me!

Leave a Reply

