Confessions of A Royal Wedding Watcher

royal wedding invitation by markhillary

From the minute they announced their engagement I knew I’d get up early to watch the wedding on TV. 

Go ahead and laugh at me, but I did.  Just like I did in 1981 when Charles and Diana got married. 

Fascination with the Royal Family is interesting, isn’t it?  Maybe to some in a clinical sense, but you have to admit, when over a billion people tune in over different time zones, something has peaked our interest. 

On a superficial level, maybe all we really care about is the dress and the kiss on the balcony and who’s on the guest list.  And of course, that gorgeous Aston Martin that drove them away. 

But I think it’s deeper.

 We like that Kate Middleton grew up in a caste system that solely by her birth labeled her  a commoner and yet she caught the eye of the man-who-would-be-king.  We like the fact that she’s a woman who’s not supposed to be eligible and he picked her anyway.  We like that she seems to know who she is. 

That she’s worthy of marrying a prince. 

The big question is, how did she come to know that? 

the royal kiss by whitneyinchicago

And maybe on the inside she has her moments of doubt like the rest of us.  But from all outward appearances, she has the self-assurance – the confidence – the composure of a woman who knows who she is and knows that she’s desirable to the prince. 

 This isn’t a Cinderella story where the poor destitute girl is rescued by the handsome prince.  This is a story where the girl knew she was worthy of a prince. 

That makes all the difference. 

You can only get that from growing up in a kingdom where you’re reminded over and over of how worthy you are.  Where you are loved unconditionally, unselfishly and empowered to take on the world.  

Can you imagine what would happen if every little girl and boy grew up that way? 

Some might think it would turn us all into a bunch of pompous blowhards.  I think it would be quite the opposite. 

Because when I know who I really am – when I remember that I’m a daughter of the King – it changes everything. 

It makes me more compassionate. 

More forgiving. 

Less consumed with self.

 That’s why I think we enjoy watching.  Because somewhere deep down inside we think, I wonder if that could’ve been me.  We’d all just like to know that we aren’t bound by our birth, or the labels a social system would have us wear.  We’d like to know that we, too, could catch the eye of the King. 

The thing is, we already have. 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Sherry Dale says:

    There was a time in my life when a day like the royal wedding was the last thing I ever thought would happen to me. However in 1994 it did happen and I have pics of that grand day. With God all things are possible. He is also the only one who knows if any union will be “happily ever after”….That is what we hope for.

    1. sallygary says:

      Thanks, Sherry, for reminding us that ALL things are possible with God.

  2. Heather Alkire says:

    Oh Sally you have no idea how much I needed to read this tonight! Thanks for posting! Love you, friend!

  3. Melinda says:

    My mom woke me up early in the morning to watch both Diana’s and Sarah’s weddings. Brent thought I was crazy thinking about doing that with my girls; but, for me it was about carrying on the tradition my mother started with me. I knew I might be losing a peaceful afternoon from their lack of sleep, but it was worth it.

  4. Oh my word, I love your perspective on this. Yes and Yes!

  5. t sanders says:

    I just wish the Aston Martin had been red.

Leave a Reply

