Why You Shouldn’t Wear Dirty Clothes

Sometimes I pull stuff out of the dirty clothes and wear it again before it’s washed.

I did it this morning dressing for the gym.  No sense in pulling a clean T-shirt out, only to go sweat.

I’ve done this all my life.  But the first time should have shocked me into never doing it again.

I was eight and my mother and I were getting ready to go somewhere.  I decided I wanted to wear this particular shirt that was already in the dirty clothes, so I went in the bathroom to retrieve it.

We had this built-in hamper with a slot to dump your dirty clothes.  Then below was a big door that opened to get the clothes out when it was time to do laundry.

Not wanting to draw attention to myself, I purposely didn’t turn on the bathroom light.  Trying to hurry and get back to my room with my wrinkled, smelly shirt before I was caught, I squatted down, jerked the hamper door open and crawled halfway inside. 

I spotted the shirt, but right before my hand touched it, I saw something move.

There, on top of my favorite shirt, was the biggest, hairiest spider I’d ever seen.  A tarantula the size of my hand.

Ok, so it probably wasn't this big & it probably wasn't a tarantula, but I was eight!

  

The fact that I was in the bathroom digging dirty clothes out to wear was no longer a secret. 

At that age I didn’t say what would’ve come out of my mouth today.  I just shrieked at the top of my lungs and of course, my mother came running.

Armed with only a shoe, she told me to “g-g-g-get back!”

In a few seconds the spider was unrecognizable, but it would be years before I fully appreciated what she had to do in that moment.

You’d think after a traumatizing event like that, I wouldn’t still rummage through dirty clothes to find something to wear. 

But sometimes the need to wear just the right thing – the article of clothing that best expresses how you’re feeling at the moment – is worth the risk.  Because clothes, you know, say a lot about who you believe you are.

Of course, sometimes it’s simply more comfortable.

And sometimes you just need to do laundry.

Don’t act so repulsed.  You’ve done it, too.  Haven’t you?    

10 Comments Add yours

  1. incapearl says:

    Bahahaha! You crack me up, Sally! Thanks for this story and thanks for sharing your true self…

    1. sallygary says:

      Our true selves are kinda messy, aren’t they?! But that’s what endears us to each other!

  2. Beverly says:

    the most amazing part of this is picturing Betty killing a spider. That is NOT an easy thing to do

    1. sallygary says:

      That’s right. She went into “unknown tongues” while she was killing it!

  3. Amanda Vickers says:

    Guilty – and carry no shame about it.

    1. sallygary says:

      Hold your head up high, sister. That way you won’t be able to smell yourself.

  4. Tara says:

    At least you’ve learned to turn the lights on. Yes, I do it. I pick my nose too.

    1. sallygary says:

      I knew we were kindred spirits.

  5. PeggyCorder says:

    Uh, no I can’t say I have! I am the one that can’t stand to go to bed without a shower and clean clothes. But I also have to have a shower in the mornings as well. So, I would never put on something pulled from the hamper, even if it was something I really, really liked. No, just wouldn’t do it. But I don’t judge you for doing it, I just might not stand close to you! LOL And…….I don’t like to sweat! Now that is about all you need to know about me this morning! “:P) Have a good day! And do your laundry! lol

    1. sallygary says:

      Yes, ma’am! I love you, Peggy!

Leave a Reply

