Don’t Give Up On Tomatoes. Or Anything Else….

Last spring I planted tomatoes.  My friend, Sandra, who lives down the street from me, took me to Lowe’s and we got everything I needed to plant my first crop.  

One Roma plant and one grape tomato plant.  A bag of potting soil. 

My mouth was already watering for big, juicy bright red tomatoes that I could slice and salt or put on sandwiches and hamburgers.  Tomatoes that would taste better than anything Wal-Mart has to offer.  And cute little grape tomatoes that I could just pop in my mouth whenever I wanted.  Dozens of them. 

The people who lived in this house before me had a sandbox in the backyard for their kids, so I decided to use it for my garden space. And I nailed up some white garden fencing to keep a very curious weiner dog from trampling the plants.

Sandra helped me get the plants in the ground and gave me some extra trellises from her yard for the vines to cling to as they grew. 

The plants were so tiny that I thought those trellises were a waste of time.

I was wrong.  

The vines kept growing.  In fact, they’ve almost grown out of control. 

But no fruit. 

I watered them religiously.  They’re planted in plenty of sunlight.  Couldn’t figure out what was wrong, except that it’s been ridiculously hot for two months.  

Maybe that was it. 

Then Sandra told me she didn’t have a single tomato from any of her plants either. 

I felt better.  

I just resigned myself to the fact that nothing could grow in this heat.  So I stopped watering as much, and decided that there just weren’t going to be any grape tomatoes, my favorites.  

I gave up my hope for having homegrown tomatoes and just bought some. 

The minute I saw those green buds I was reminded of how many times I've been ready to give up on a situation - a relationship - a person - because surely things were never going to change. Just because it didn't happen when I wanted it to. Would've missed out on some great salsa had I stopped watering. And what a tragedy that would've been.

Then last Friday I went outside to water what has now become a tomato jungle and was amazed.  There, all of a sudden, dozens of tiny green grape tomato buds had sprouted – and three Roma tomato buds – seemingly overnight.   

Shame on me for giving up on those vines. 

Just because they didn’t produce in the timeframe I had picked out for them.

And to think, I was about to stop watering them at all.     

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Karen says:

    Glad to hear that your tomatoes have started bearing fruit. There is nothing like a home grown tomato. I think it is your heat. Tomatoes tend not to set fruit in very cool or very hot weather.

    1. sallygary says:

      Ok, I checked out YOUR tomatoes from your blog post and they’re amazing! Thanks for the encouragement – and I’ll take any tips you want to throw my way!

  2. Sandra Pierson says:

    I’m glad your first garden is producing fruit. That’s quite a feat in this extreme heat! Gardening is a wonderful hobby. It not only saves money and provides delicious food, but is a wonderful teacher as well! I’ve learned some great lessons in the garden.

    1. sallygary says:

      Thanks, my friend, for helpng me that day – for spending time with me – for doing all the work when my head was still spinning! That was a fun day- one I won’t soon forget.

  3. tara sanders says:

    “never going to change”

    Thankful there are small things in life to prove that’s not true.

    1. sallygary says:

      “Always” & “never” are always words to run from…..

Leave a Reply

