Refrigerator Art

You can tell a lot about people by what they put up on their refrigerators.

Sometimes I keep appointment cards from my doctor’s office for next year’s appointment up there.  Because in a year, the only place I know I’ll find that card is on the refrigerator. 

I still have magnets that I’ve had on my refrigerator since 1984. 

Magnets that students gave me. 

Magnets from pizza delivery places everywhere I’ve lived. 

Magnets made out of Lego pieces that one of my college debaters made me for Christmas one year.

I need a lot of magnets to hold up the refrigerator art I like to display. 

Like this birthday card somebody gave me that has a dachshund standing on a scale saying, “Kibble has carbs.  Who knew?” 

One of my favorite things on my fridge is this Farside cartoon of an alligator on the witness stand being cross-examined by the prosecuting attorney, where he says emphatically, “Of course I did it in cold blood, you idiot, I’m a reptile!” 

Mostly I have photographs of people I know.  People I love.  

Christmas cards. 

Engagement pictures. 

Birth announcements. 

For kids who are now in elementary school.

Somehow I just can’t take them down.  As though taking those pictures down would be the same as removing them from my life. 

Yeah, I know lots of people who are constantly changing the pictures on their refrigerators.  Every time you go to their house, there’s new stuff up there.  

I put new stuff up on my refrigerator, too. 

I add things. 

New pictures.  New people.  New appointment cards. 

But I don’t ever remove one picture to put a new one up there.  

The pictures stay. 

My heart works the same way.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Kelvin says:

    Well Sally, I keep a pictureless Frig, but I do carry the same love in my heart for my friends. Love you and miss you!

  2. I so identify with this post and I love looking at friends’ refrigerators! … along with Zach … I usually love what’s inside. Check my note here for our own “strawberry lemonade” – it’s pretty awesome!
    http://bit.ly/qYmRuW Have you ever seen lemons so big?!

  3. Candy says:

    I so get this. I was so disappointed when I found out nothing stuck to the front of this new silver fridge. Ridiculous! I almost sent it back! Now the sides are full. At least you can see the sides – somewhat.

  4. Zack Smith says:

    P.s. I was born in 1984! 😛

    1. sallygary says:

      Just hush, Zack….so I have refrigerator magnets that are as old as you. At least my fridge isn’t that old!

  5. Zack Smith says:

    I miss that fridge……. (Mainly because I know it contains Pink Lemonade and Frozen Cookie Dough!)

    1. sallygary says:

      Yes! Strawberry lemonade & Neiman-Marcus cookie dough – only the very best for very special friends!

Leave a Reply

