Grass Burrs & Other Things That Are Painful to Remove

Poor Chester had a hard morning. But he's feeling much better now.

 

Chester had a grass burr in his paw this morning.

I had wondered why he was so cuddly.  He crawled up in my lap, onto my chest, and nuzzled his nose right against my neck and wouldn’t move. 

Except to lick his sore paw. 

When I tried to put him down, he just stood there and looked pitifully at me.  Holding his left paw up in the air. 

Then I knew. 

I picked him up and held him on his back like a baby while I tried to examine the paw.  

I felt very carefully between the pads on the back of his paw to see if anything was there.

Sure enough, there was a huge grass burr buried down between his “toes.”

Every time I came close to it, he flinched. 

Then I flinched, because every time he moved, it dug a little deeper into my fingers!

And this wasn’t just a regular grass burr – those are bad enough, but this was one of those hard, nasty things they call goatheads – the kind that have long spikes on them that could pierce an ear. 

Ever try to get hold of one of those?  On a wiggling dog?

At one point I had to sort of lay over on Chester so that he wouldn’t move while I dug around in his paw.  It was buried deep.

If Chester had been in charge, we would’ve just left the grass burr alone.  He would’ve laid around all morning and not moved, but that way he wouldn’t have to go through the pain of removing it.  And maybe licking it really did make it feel better.

But then eventually he would’ve wanted something to eat.  Or a drink.  Or a treat.

Or he would’ve heard the dogs next door barking and want to go outside.

And the sticker would still be there. 

I’ve been just like Chester at times.

Sometimes it does feel better to just not mess with the sticker.  Just leave it where it is and hope it works itself out. 

Sometimes stickers are buried so deep you need help pulling them out.

Sometimes they’ve been in there so long you’ve forgotten how it feels to walk without stickers.

It hurts to pull the sticker out. 

But it feels so much better when you do. 

Makes me want to run around the couch just like Chester.

Got any stickers in your paws?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura says:

    That reminds me of a joke:

    How many therapists does it take to change a light bulb?

    Only one, but the bulb has to want to change.

  2. dan gary says:

    We all have stickers of some sort and we hardly ever try to pull them out because it hurts so bad! We need to work on getting them out, though.

Leave a Reply

