Procrastinators of the World Unite. Tomorrow.

I did it again. 

Every year I tell myself that I’m not going to wait til the last minute to do all my Christmas shopping. 

And every year I do.

I don’t understand why I’m like that. 

It could be the stories I heard my mother tell about waiting til Christmas Eve one year to buy presents for everyone in the family.  She decided to go in one store and buy them all the same thing.  

Red long johns.  With flaps.

Wish I could get that family picture out of my head.

We also teased her every year about saying she wanted to have all her shopping done before Thanksgiving so she could enjoy Christmas and not be in such a rush. 

That never happened.

Maybe this is genetic.

For over a month I’ve been planning to order stuff online.  Or make calendars or picture books.  That would’ve been nice.

Instead, I waited until the day the kids got out of school for Christmas vacation to begin my shopping.  Venturing out to places where they do their shopping.

Target. 

The Mall. 

Hastings. 

An absolute madhouse.

Finding a parking space took forever. 

But I knew anything had to be better than WalMart.

I’m thinking next year I’ll buy all the groceries I need between Thanksgiving and Christmas around the first of November so I don’t have to go in there. 

That way I’ll be able to relax and enjoy the holidays.  Have everything prepared in advance.  Not be stressed. 

Sit down with a nice cup of hot spiced tea and let Martha Stewart teach me how to have the perfect Christmas.

That would be a good thing. 

But I know me. 

And it ain’t gonna happen.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lisa says:

    Nope. It ain’t.

    Merry Christmas!!!

    1. sallygary says:

      I’m so glad you know me – and love me anyway! Merry Christmas to you, too!

Leave a Reply

