New Year’s Resolutions From A Dog

The first post of the New Year is from Chester, my ferocious but loveable wiener dog. 

Here are his Resolutions for 2012….

 

1.  Improve my diet.

            Cut down on the rawhide pig sticks and eat more carrots and apples, instead of peanut butter, in my Kong.

 

2. Take better care of my things. 

            I have this bad habit of eating my toys.  I just can’t help myself when I get a new toy that has one of those squeakers in it.  I have to get it out.  But maybe I’d get more toys if I wouldn’t tear them up.  And maybe my bed would be more comfortable if I wouldn’t chew holes in the pad and pull all the stuffing out.

 

3.  Seek help with my barking. 

            I know my barking’s out of control.  I’m not sure why I bark.  I mean, it’s my job to protect the place, isn’t it?  And barking is my first line of defense.  If a leaf moves outside – or worse, a squirrel appears, or that blue pickup that lives next door pulls up – I need to alert Sally that there’s a potential threat.  But barking incessantly at people who clearly aren’t a threat  – well, I have to admit, it’s a problem.  

            You know, they say there’s always something underneath the barking.  A reason as to why we bark.  I guess I’m afraid.  Afraid they’re really there to hurt us.  Maybe they won’t like me after they get in the door.  And if I let my guard down too quickly, well, there could be trouble. 

            But barking all the time keeps a lot of good people out, too.

4.  Take better care of my body.

            I’ve got to stop jumping up and down off the furniture.  You see, as a pup I was allowed to do this, so it’s just second nature to me.  But it’s bad on my back.  And now that I know better, I can’t keep using that as an excuse.

            I also need to walk more.  Guess that means I shouldn’t sit down in the middle of the street any more when we go for walks in the neighborhood.  I’ll finish the walk instead of making Sally carry me back to the house.

 

5.  Accept that some people aren’t going to like me.

            You know, I’ve always had this idea that if I just try a little harder – jump up on them one more time – that people will figure out how irresistible I am, reach down and let me lick them on the hand and end up really liking me.  But believe it or not, some people just don’t like dogs. 

Jumping on them does nothing but annoy them more – and wear me out.

 

6.  Beg less. 

            It’s very unattractive.

 

7.  Play more ball. 

            There should always be more time for doing the things we love.  And chasing a ball is a lot more productive than chasing my tail like I did when I was a pup. 

 

8.  Take more naps on the couch with Sally.

            Nothing will ever replace spending time with someone you love.  Not even treats.

 

You can learn a lot from a dog….


4 Comments Add yours

  1. Tim Hayes says:

    It’s a bad thing when you see a post and think, “cute dog,” but your brain skips the title and the main point of the post before reading. I read #1 thinking these were “Sally’s Resolutions,” and thought, “Huh? A Kong. What is she talking about?” Then #2… eating my toys, “What in the world?!”

    THEN, I looked at the title! Whew! Sally has not gone over the bend. Yes, we can learn a lot from a dog. I am sure Chester would read the title first. Tim needs to learn this, too.

  2. dan gary says:

    CHESTER YOU CAN DO ALL THOSE THINGS BECAUSE YOU ARE A VERY INTELLIGENT DOG! DON’T WORRY ABOUT SOME OF THEM AND YOU WILL ALWAYS BE LOVED BY YOUR MAMA AND TWO OF YOUR CLOSEST RELATIVES! OF COURSE, YOU KNOW WHO THAT IS!

  3. Rena Seay says:

    Way to go Chester. Guido highly recommends small bits of bannana in that knog.

  4. Lisa says:

    So true, so true:-)

Leave a Reply

