What was your favorite Super Bowl commercial?

Like many of you, I watched the Super Bowl last night. 

Being the die-hard Cowboy fan that I am, I had no interest in the outcome of the game.  I simply watched because, well, you never know what’s going to happen at halftime.

But the real reason I watched:  the commercials.

My favorites?

Without a doubt, I loved seeing Ferris Bueller all grown up and driving a Honda.

Watch all the commercials here!

And the Great Dane who bribes his owner with Doritos to make sure the owner doesn’t tell his wife that the dog ate the cat.

But the best was from Volkswagen, with that dog trying to shed a few pounds on the treadmill to  James Brown’s “Get Up Offa That Thing.”

I remember when I first learned how much advertising during the Super Bowl cost back in the ‘90s.  Several hundred thousand dollars. 

This year’s ads ran about $3.5 million for a thirty second spot. 

Now I realize that for these companies, $3.5 million is a drop in the bucket. 

But still. 

They wouldn’t be about to pay that amount unless they knew they were in for a good return on their investment.

They knew that over 100 million of us would be watching.  And they knew something else, too. 

That what we watch has an impact on us.

Even if we don’t get up at that moment craving Doritos. 

They know that we’ll remember.

They know that we’ll connect that memory of the funny dog or the catchy song or David Beckham in his underwear with the experience of being with friends and family, eating junk food and being surrounded by a community of people we love and laugh with – and those images become imbedded in our brains.

They know that the next time we’re at the store and have to choose, maybe we’ll be more likely to choose Doritos over Ruffles.  Just maybe.

I’ve always prided myself on not being one of the minions who could be so easily influenced. 

But isn’t it funny that I still remember that they sell that guy’s underwear at H & M? 

I’ve never even been to H & M.

Leave a Reply

