“I Scream, You Scream, We All Scream for Ice Cream!”

In case you missed National Ice Cream Day on July 15, don’t despair.  

The whole month of July was declared National Ice Cream Month by President Ronald Reagan back in 1984. 

That was probably the best thing that happened to me in 1984. 

I’ve loved ice cream ever since it was my job to sit on the homemade ice cream freezer that my grandfather cranked by hand on the patio at my grandparents’ house.  Balancing on top of the newspaper and bath towel placed on the freezer for insulation, I sat there proudly while my grandfather turned the crank, participating in what I came to relish as one of my favorite treats of the summer.

And vanilla was acceptable only if it was homemade. 

Otherwise it needed Hershey’s chocolate syrup.  

To this day I can’t eat a bowl of vanilla ice cream and chocolate syrup without swirling the last few bites together into the consistency of a chocolate malt, just like my dad taught me to do when I was a little girl. 

 

 

When a Baskin Robbins franchise opened up in Wichita Falls in the sixties, and I tasted Pralines ‘n’ Cream for the first time, I was simply overcome. 

Especially when my dentist started giving me gift certificates for free cones.

Much better than the plastic rings. 

And I loved going to Park Plaza Drug Store, sitting up at the counter and eating a scoop of chocolate ice cream frozen so hard it had ice crystals in it. 

I’ve been fortunate in my day to experience a lot of ice cream, so it’s hard for me to choose a favorite, but I’ve narrowed it down to a few.

Ben & Jerry’s Coffee Heathbar Crunch. 

 

 

 

 

  Haagen Dazs’ Swiss Chocolate Almond.

 

 

 

 

  Anything from Braum’s covered in hot fudge.

 

 

 

 

 

 

My mother’s homemade sherbet made with Orange Crush soda pop, Eagle Brand condensed milk and a can of crushed pineapple.

Any flavor of Italian gelato.  (And I’ve tasted them all.)

But being a Texan, Blue Bell is still “the best ice cream in the country.”  

7 Comments Add yours

  1. refinedchef says:

    Is there any better way to feed the soul? I think not! love, life, ice cream! thank you for sharing.

  2. dan gary says:

    yes it is good to the last bite, haven’t tasted in the last three weeks. trying not to eat that stuff. ITS VERY DIFFICULT!

    1. sallygary says:

      Go get some fat free frozen yogurt at the new place on Kemp. Fill up on free samples first….!

  3. sweetaddict says:

    I love, love ice cream! I gave blood today, so I might replace some of that lost pint, with a pint of Ben & Jerry’s!

    1. sallygary says:

      You definitely deserve some Ben & Jerry’s!

  4. nathanalbert says:

    Man I miss Braum’s. Their Peanut Butter Cup was magical.

    1. sallygary says:

      Oh yeah. I was first introduced to Braum’s back in the mid 70s when I’d visit my cousins in Oklahoma. My aunt & I would fast for a day so we could go get what they called a banana fudge royale – basically a banana split with only vanilla ice cream & hot fudge. It was divine. But after not eating all day, made me sick as a dog. Didn’t care. It was worth every bite.

Leave a Reply

