Writing For Dummies. (Oh, wait, that didn’t come out right. I didn’t mean you….)

For as long as I can remember I’ve wanted to be a writer.  

When I was in elementary school I wanted to be a children’s author and write stories like the ones I so enjoyed reading.  

Beverly Cleary’s stories about Ramona Quimby, Age 8.

The Boxcar Children and Pippi Longstocking.

Freddy the Pig stories.  Who at the age of eight could resist a cloven hooved detective?

And of course, the greatest pig story of all time, Charlotte’s Web

In the fourth grade I wrote my first story about Mutley the dog, a character on one of my favorite Saturday morning cartoons.  

 

 

In sixth grade I had a crush on John Boy Walton and started writing a journal in a Big Chief Tablet like he did.  And I started writing stories, first for the junior high newspaper, and then for my high school tabloid, with a bi-monthly column aptly titled, “Mighty Mouth.”

 

 

Somewhere along the way I decided to write for National Geographic when I grew up.  That way I’d get to travel and take my own photographs.  

 

 

When I went to college I first declared a journalism major, but over my freshman year I began to move in a different direction, namely away from anything that required time-consuming effort like writing well. 

Writing is a tedious task, even though it’s enjoyable.  And it’s best done in solitude.

In college I wasn’t much into solitude.

But I never lost the desire to learn to write. 

Because I know how powerfully I’ve been moved by words all my life.

Now I have the chance to learn the craft and I’m excited and scared all at the same time.  I took the summer and most of the fall off from doing many CenterPeace events so that I could devote myself to writing a book, a spiritual memoir, that will hopefully be finished by next year.  I’m thankful for the opportunity to learn, but I’m not a writer yet. I’m just writing.  I wonder at what point I’ll know if and when I’m a writer? 

So if I don’t post as often, or if I try some pieces out on you in the months ahead, bear with me. 

Most of all, pray that I say what needs to be said and nothing more. 

I’ve been known to not stop while I was ahead, you know.  

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. sherry says:

    I wish you much success with your book, Sally!! You ARE a writer, and a very good one at that…always have been; I have the papers to prove it! 🙂 XXO

  2. Millissa Coffey says:

    Can’t wait to read. If we let Him use us, our hurts and victories will never be wasted. Hugs to you.

  3. djlazzell says:

    Funny …. I was just telling someone about you and your work yesterday and used the word “writer.” I’m excited about your book. I would love to read about this journey for you. ❤

  4. Sally, If you are not a writer, I don’t know who is. Please continue to inspire us, motivate us and challenge our thoughts and motives. Thanks for all you write and share!

    1. sallygary says:

      Oh, DeAun, you’re kind – thank you! And keep telling me that until I believe it….

Leave a Reply

