Exceeding My Limitations

The first big piece of writing I ever did, if you don’t count my book report on Jefferson Davis in the fifth grade, was the term theme I wrote as a junior in high school.

The term theme, as it was called, was a major research paper over an American literary topic and it had to be between 20 and 25 pages long.

We all just about swallowed our tongues when we heard Mrs. Rowe say that.

It had to have an ungodly number of sources and everything had to be footnoted.  (In the days before Microsoft Word did that for you automatically.)

That meant you had to turn your rough draft upside down and write out the footnote to see how much room you needed to leave at the bottom of your paper.

Of course, it had to be written out in longhand because most people didn’t have a typewriter.

At least we had progressed past ink wells.

I remember worrying about how I was going to fill up those twenty pages.

But it wasn’t long before I found myself scrunching up my handwriting, trying to keep from going over the page limit.

Seems I’ve never had as much trouble finding something to say as much as knowing when to shut up.

This past week I turned in the first rough draft of the book I’ve been working on for the last several months.

It was exhilarating and exhausting and a bit scary all at the same time.

Promo card for the book, furnished by the publisher, Leafwood Press. Click on the card to visit their website and check out other titles they’ve published.

The title is Loves God, Likes Girls – A Memoir.  Hopefully it will help readers better understand what it’s like to grow up experiencing same-sex attraction while also being deeply committed to a most loving God.  If it helps just one person – just one family – who’s wrestling with all of those questions feel less alone, well, then it will be worth it.

I’ll keep you posted on the progress – it’s due to be released at the Pepperdine Lectures next May and available to the public sometime next summer.

And in case you’re wondering, yes, I exceeded the page limits.

That’s what editors are for.

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. very excited for all the readers and for you as your desire to write has come to be!! peace.

  2. Julie says:

    Congrats Sally! I can’t wait to buy a copy and share it! I am so proud of you!

  3. Laura says:

    Congratulations, Sally! Can’t wait to read it.

  4. Shawna Mathis says:

    So thankful for your courage to put your story on paper! Looking forward to reading it and passing it on to others. ❤

  5. DJ says:

    I’m really looking forward to this. Thank you for this gift.

  6. marty castleberg says:

    Hey, this is great. I hope all the revisions go well. Who’s publishing it? Do you realize that we used the same WordPress template. Great minds!

  7. Peggy Corder says:

    How exciting for you. I will look forward to reading it! Hope you are doing well! Love ya

    1. sallygary says:

      Thanks, Peggy – I’m doing well, but would be even better if I could make a trip down to Beaumont to see you and Tollie! Tell him I said hello – love you both!

  8. lborange says:

    Wow. Great title!

    Sent from my iPhone

    1. sallygary says:

      Thanks, Laura – I’m glad you like it! How’s your book coming along?

Leave a Reply

