Mike’s Wedding Dress

It had been a long time since I’d bought a dress, but I’d been invited to a friend’s wedding and I wanted to wear a dress. 
My friend, Mike, came down from Arkansas to attend the wedding, too, so he agreed to go shopping with me.  I haven’t always felt comfortable shopping with just anybody.  There’s always been something strangely awkward about it for me, like I just didn’t know what I was supposed to pick out, wondering whether what I liked actually looked good on me, you know, that sort of thing. 
Especially if I was picking out a dress. 
But with Mike, somehow all that felt different.  I felt completely at ease. 
Mike walked through every inch of the store with me, looking at every dress they sold.  Finally I picked out a few to try on and he found a chair near the big tri-fold mirror just outside my dressing room. 
He didn’t sit there for long, though. 
Mike became invested in the process, helping me figure out which one was the most flattering, the best color, the best fit. He even went back and forth a few times to retrieve a different size when needed.
He wasn’t in any hurry.  He didn’t seem put out being there.
That was one of my favorite shopping trips ever. 
Today’s Mike’s birthday.  He would’ve been 33 and not a day goes by that I don’t think of him.  I miss our conversations, his laugh, the mischievous twinkle in his eye, hearing him say, “I love you this much.” 
Two years later and I still love that dress.
Probably just because Mike helped me pick it out. 

DSC00711

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Philip Dosa says:

    It’s cool to hear the back story. I was so honored that he came to our wedding from out of town.

  2. Laura Brown says:

    “Would’ve.” Oh, what a word contains.

    Weeping.

    Grateful to have known him. Hopeful to see him again.

    1. sallygary says:

      Yes. Without a doubt, we will see Mike again.

Leave a Reply

