Top Chef

pumpkin bar mix

Tonight I decided to bake something for my friends coming in town for our 30th college reunion.

Pumpkin bars from a Betty Crocker mix.  All you have to do is add some butter and an egg.

How hard can it be?

Except I forgot to melt the butter.

And I never should’ve attempted cream cheese icing with fat free cream cheese.

Did I mention that the friends coming to stay with me for the weekend had been home economics majors in college?

Made me think of my senior year when I lived with three girls in an apartment and we decided to each be responsible for preparing a meal one night a week.

They made things like spaghetti with homemade sauce, never something out of a jar.

Mashed potatoes and gravy, broccoli with cheese sauce that I wanted to wash my face in it was so good.

And then there were Thursday nights.

My night to cook.

At first I made things like tomato soup and crackers.

Some weeks I went all out, telling them I hadn’t had time to cook, that I just picked up a bucket of chicken on the way home, or a large pizza.

Then I got desperate.

So at the beginning of the week I started asking around – on the sly, of course – looking for someone who’d cook for me.  I scoped out our campus center, looking for somebody who could cook who wouldn’t rat on me.  When I found someone who’d agree to prepare a meal for me and sneak it over to our apartment in time for me to stick it in the oven as though I’d prepared it myself, I paid them for the groceries and waited for delivery.

Felt like some kind of drug deal.

For several weeks it worked like a charm.  Until they started asking me how to fix whatever it was we were eating.

So I confessed. 

And they actually started helping me learn how to cook some things.

Turns out I could make some mean chicken fried steak.  And chicken enchiladas.  With guacamole.

Not bad for a communication major.

We’ll probably eat those pumpkin bars, too.

83SocialRoommates

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kelvin says:

    What? No Tornado Stew? I remember those girls.

  2. Laurie wolford schoening says:

    Oh my goodness!!! I can’t believe you posted that picture!! I was a little rolly Polly back then. You and Tracy haven’t changed a bit! I would love to see Lisa. Funny story. I always thought Lisa was the best cook. Never got enough of her cherry pie. Thanks for the memory.

Leave a Reply

